January 7, 2019

Halep, Kerber headline star cast at Qatar Total Open 2019

Simona Halep, the World No. 1 and 2014 champion, is leading the array of stars set to feature at the Qatar Total Open 2019, a WTA Tour event, to be held from February 11 to 16 at the Khalifa International Tennis & Squash Complex in Doha.

Now in its 17thedition, this year’s event will parade five of the world’s top ten players including World No. 2 Angelique Kerber; a three-time Grand Slam champion and 2014 finalist, 2018 US Open champion Naomi Osaka of Japan – who is currently ranked fifth, World No. 8 and 2017 champion Karolina Pliskova of Czech Republic and Netherland’s Kiki Bertens, the World No. 9.

Other players to watch out for include 2016 champion Carla Suárez Navarro of Spain, World No. 11 Anastasija Sevastova, 2017 US Open finalist Madison Keys as well as Latvia’s Jelena Ostapenko, the 2016 finalist.

A total of $851,031 cash prizes are up for grabs in the 32-competitor singles draw and 16-pair doubles draw event

“We are happy to host the Qatar Total Open once again. It has always been a pleasure to bring the world’s best players to Doha, the hub of global sports, every year. Qatar Total Open has grown to become one of the most sought-after event in Qatar’s sporting calendar and we are really proud of what we’ve been able to achieve over the years. This year’s edition promises to be greater and better than the previous and fans are assured of having the best of fun as they watch their favorite stars play.” said Tournament Director; Saad Saleh Al Mohannadi.

“In continuation of our tradition as a family-oriented event, Qatar Total Open 2019 brings to the whole family a week-long incomparable level of sports entertainment activities at the home of tennis in Qatar – the Khalifa International Tennis & Squash Complex. No one can afford to miss this.” he added.

Held since 2001, the Qatar Total Open has grown to become one of the biggest WTA Tour events in the region and it has consistently featured the world’s top ten players on a regular basis.

The last edition was won by Czech Republic’s Petra Kvitova who recorded her 13th consecutive victory by beating Spaniard Garbine Muguruza 3–6, 6–3, 6–4 in a highly entertaining encounter.